JD Kirk

JD Kirk Author Photo

JD Kirk is a Scottish crime fiction author with a very big secret – he doesn’t exist. Instead, JD is the pen-name of award-winning former children’s author Barry Hutchison, who first turned his hand to tartan noir in early 2019 with the publication of his first DCI Jack Logan novel, A Litter of Bones.

Since then, JD has written and published over a dozen novels in the series, and gone on to sell more than two million copies. He has also murdered approximately thirty fictional Highlanders, much to the delight of his growing army of worldwide fans, who can’t get enough of his twisting plots, gruesome deaths, and laugh-out-loud humour.

In 2021, JD made the final shortlist of five for the Kindle Storyteller Prize, and also released the first book in his Robert Hoon spin-off series, which has been described as ‘Jack Reacher meets Trainspotting.’

Unsurprisingly, JD, just like Barry, lives in Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland.

Neither of them has any idea what ‘JD’ stands for.

Books

The DCI Logan Series

JD Kirk

A LITTER OF BONES JD Kirk

Deranged killers. Ruthless kidnappers. The odd stray sheep. It’s all in a day’s work for Police Scotland’s DCI Jack Logan.

Journey to the remote Highlands of Scotland with Jack and his team in this internationally bestselling Scottish crime fiction series which readers are calling ‘equal parts harrowing and hilarious’.

The DCI Logan series has sold over 3 million copies since its debut in 2019. From 2024, the series is published in paperback by Canelo, with a hardback edition for the twentieth title, A Killer of Influence.

‘A breath of fresh air in the crime fiction genre.’

— LJ Ross

‘Gripping. Atmospheric. Chilling. A superb debut.’

— Adam Croft

The DI Heather Filson series

JD Kirk

The One That Got Away

What if your worst enemy was your only hope?

When a fifteen-year-old girl fails to make it home after school, DI Heather Filson believes she’s dealing with just another teenage runaway.

The girl’s grandfather, a notorious Glasgow gangster, disagrees. Convinced one of his underworld enemies has grabbed her, he’s prepared to bathe the city in blood in order to bring his princess home.

But, as the days pass and the evidence mounts, Heather starts to fear that they’re both wrong, and that a brutal killer from the past has returned.

A killer who once stalked the streets of her hometown, preying on vulnerable young victims.

A killer that DI Heather Filson is uniquely familiar with…

This Little Piggy

Do you know who your friends are?

When a much-loved Kilmarnock police constable is found beaten to death in his home, all signs point to a burglary gone wrong. But, when a second officer is slain while walking the beat, it becomes clear that something much more sinister is afoot.

Somebody is murdering cops.

Harassed by an infuriating new partner and a teenage true crime podcaster, DI Heather Filson must track down a brutal killer while tensions between the police and the public explode into violence.

With rioting breaking out across Glasgow, and running battles filling the streets, Heather’s latest investigation is no longer just a murder hunt.

It’s a race to stop Scotland’s largest city from tearing itself apart.

The Hoon Series

JD Kirk

A new series of action-packed thrillers for fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, and Mark Dawson featuring former copper and ex-soldier Bob Hoon.

Jog on, Bond. Hoon is the hero we need!

— Angus King