JD Kirk

JD Kirk is a Scottish crime fiction author with a very big secret – he doesn’t exist. Instead, JD is the pen-name of award-winning former children’s author Barry Hutchison, who first turned his hand to tartan noir in early 2019 with the publication of his first DCI Jack Logan novel, A Litter of Bones.

Since then, JD has written and published over a dozen novels in the series, and gone on to sell more than two million copies. He has also murdered approximately thirty fictional Highlanders, much to the delight of his growing army of worldwide fans, who can’t get enough of his twisting plots, gruesome deaths, and laugh-out-loud humour.

In 2021, JD made the final shortlist of five for the Kindle Storyteller Prize, and also released the first book in his Robert Hoon spin-off series, which has been described as ‘Jack Reacher meets Trainspotting.’

Unsurprisingly, JD, just like Barry, lives in Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland.

Neither of them has any idea what ‘JD’ stands for.

Books

The DCI Logan Series

JD Kirk

Deranged killers. Ruthless kidnappers. The odd stray sheep. It’s all in a day’s work for Police Scotland’s DCI Jack Logan.

Journey to the remote Highlands of Scotland with Jack and his team in this internationally bestselling Scottish crime fiction series which readers are calling ‘equal parts harrowing and hilarious’.

The DCI Logan series has sold over 2 million copies since its debut in 2019.

A breath of fresh air in the crime fiction genre.

— LJ Ross

Gripping. Atmospheric. Chilling. A superb debut.

— Adam Croft

The Hoon Series

JD Kirk

A new series of action-packed thrillers for fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, and Mark Dawson featuring former copper and ex-soldier Bob Hoon.

Northwind

Shunned by his old colleagues, and dividing his time between a dead-end job and the bottom of a whisky bottle, former Police Scotland Detective Superintendent Bob Hoon’s life is a mess.

Then an old face from Hoon’s Special Forces days turns up asking for help: his teenage daughter has been missing for months, the police have drawn a blank, and he needs the kind of help that only Hoon can provide.

And besides, Hoon owes him one.

From the Highlands of Scotland, to the mean streets of London, Hoon’s relentless hunt for the girl will see him make new friends and encounter old enemies. Enemies who know what happened to the girl. And to hundreds more like her.

But Hoon’s been given something that makes him dangerous, something he thought he’d long-since lost: a purpose.
He may be a disgraced ex-copper, a barely-functioning alcoholic, and a borderline psychopath, but Bob Hoon still believes in justice.

And he’s just the foul-mouthed **** to dish some out.

Southpaw

Following his brutal search for the missing daughter of an old army colleague, Hoon is being hunted by the Loop, a secretive criminal cabal with members in very high places and a tendency to eliminate all those who stand against it.

Unfortunately for them, Hoon has never been one to back down from a fight, and he isn’t about to start now. Instead, he’s going to burn their whole damn organisation to the ground.

But first, he’s going to have to get inside.

He may be a foul-mouthed, hard-drinking psychopath with a death wish, but Bob Hoon is about to do something he hasn’t done in years.

He’s going undercover.

Jog on, Bond. Hoon is the hero we need!

— Angus King