Carolyn Kirby

Carolyn Kirby is the author of two novels. The Conviction of Cora Burns was listed for debut novel awards by the Historical Writers’ Association and the Crimefest/Specsavers Crime Fiction Prize. When We Fall was chosen by the Times and Sunday Times as one of the best novels of 2020.

Carolyn worked in social housing and as a teacher before becoming a full-time writer. Originally from Sunderland, she has two grown-up daughters and lives with her husband in Oxfordshire.



When We Fall

Carolyn Kirby

England, 1943. Lost in fog, pilot Vee Katchatourian is forced to make an emergency landing where she meets enigmatic RAF airman Stefan Bergel, and then can’t get him out of her mind.

In occupied Poland, Ewa Hartman hosts German officers in her father’s guest house, while secretly gathering intelligence for the Polish resistance. Mourning her lover, Stefan, who was captured by the Soviets at the start of the war, Ewa is shocked to him on the street one day.

Haunted by a terrible choice he made in captivity, Stefan asks Vee and Ewa to help him expose one of the darkest secrets of the war. But it is not clear where everyone’s loyalties lie until they are tested…

The Conviction of Cora Burns

Carolyn Kirby

Birmingham, 1885.

Born in a gaol and raised in a workhouse, Cora Burns has always struggled to control the violence inside her.

Haunted by memories of a terrible crime, she seeks a new life working as a servant in the house of scientist Thomas Jerwood. Here, Cora befriends a young girl, Violet, who seems to be the subject of a living experiment. But is Jerwood also secretly studying Cora…?