Veronika Dapunt

Death and Other Occupational Hazards by Veronika Dapunt acquired by Transworld

04/07/2024

Author Photo Veronika Dapunt photo credit Simon Bejer website

We’re thrilled to share that Transworld has won a three-way auction for Death and Other Occupational Hazards, a darkly comic and addictive murder mystery with a speculative edge from debut author Veronika Dapunt.

Editor Olamide Olatunji-Bello acquired World All Languages rights from Elizabeth Counsell at Northbank Talent Management. The book will be published in hardback in the first half of 2025, with a second novel in 2026.

Death and Other Occupational Hazards is a genre-defying novel that will appeal to fans of Good Omens, Lucifer and Over My Dead Body. Misunderstood and burnt out, Death decides to take a sabbatical and live as a human. While on Earth, she stumbles upon some unauthorised murders – someone’s poaching on her turf and she’s going to get to the bottom of it. Who better to investigate a murder than Death herself?

British-Austrian Veronika Dapunt was a runner-up for the 2023 Comedy Women in Print Prize with her debut novel Death and Other Occupational Hazards. She has always had a love of the darkly comic and the absurd, quite possibly the reason why her first career was in law. A graduate of Oxford University and Faber Academy, she now lives in London with an opinionated mini-schnauzer.

Counsell said: ‘This is an astonishing debut that’s guaranteed to cast a spell over readers everywhere. Smart, sharp and genuinely funny, Death and Other Occupational Hazards has so much to say about the joys of love and life. Veronika is truly a voice of the future – I’m delighted that she’s found the perfect partner in Olamide at Transworld.’

Olatunji-Bello said:Death and Other Occupational Hazards had me hooked from the first page. I laughed, I cried and with its spectacular twists and turns, I found myself never wanting it to end. In its own beautiful and unique way, the book explores what it means to be human through a delightful and wholesome cast of characters. We could not be more proud to be publishing Veronika’s brilliant debut.’

Dapunt said: ‘I’m absolutely thrilled that my book has found the perfect home with Olamide and the wonderful team at Transworld. When I started writing Death and Other Occupational Hazards, I never imagined the journey it would take me on — from the Comedy Women in Print Prize to my dream publisher — and I’m incredibly grateful to Olamide and my fantastic agent Elizabeth for believing in me.’

Author photo: Simon Bejer