Katerina Diamond

Katerina was born into a large Greek family in Weston-super-Mare. She lived in several places including Northern Greece, South Devon, Cyprus, Derby and East London before settling down in East Kent with one husband, two children and three rats.

As a child, Katerina was an avid reader from an early age, with a particular affection for Nancy Drew and Agatha Christie.

Katerina is a big fan of television dramas, movies and world cinema. This led to her writing and co-writing several screenplays before joining a novel writing group.

After beginning her first novel in 2013, Katerina entered a local writing competition and won. She is now the Sunday Times and Amazon bestselling author of a series of psychological crime novels set in Exeter. Her first novel, The Teacher, was longlisted for the CWA John Creasey Debut Dagger Award and the Hotel Chocolat Award for ‘darkest moment’.

Books

The Promise

Katerina Diamond

When troubled teen Connor moves to Exeter from the US after a horrific school shooting, he finds himself embroiled in a world of popular kids and easy girls. Everyone wants to be his friend, but they don’t know about what he did…and they don’t know about his father.

As Connor’s life in England begins to unravel, DS Adrian Miles and his partner Imogen Grey are working against the clock to catch a serial killer who dates his victims before he kills them. Determined to uncover the truth, Imogen is forced to act as bait – but will she take it too far and risk her own life?

Katerina Diamond is back with a bang in this dark, twisted novel, perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

‘All hail the new queen of crime!’

— Heat

The Angel

Katerina Diamond

THE TRUTH WON’T STAY LOCKED UP FOREVER

When a burned body is found in a disused signal box, suspicion falls on lonely teenager Gabriel Webb. There’s no doubt he was at the scene of the crime, but does he really deserve what awaits him in prison?

DS Imogen Grey is certain there’s more to the case than meets the eye. But while she struggles to convince those around her of the truth, her partner DS Adrian Miles is distracted by his own demons.

When a brutal double murder is reported, their investigation is stopped in its tracks. Is the body in the box even who they thought it was? The duo realise Gabriel might have been locked up for a crime he didn’t commit. But with enemies watching Gabriel’s every move, they may be too late.

 

‘A web of a plot that twists and turns and keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. This formidable debut is a page-turner, but don’t read it before bed if you’re easily spooked!’

— Sun

The Secret

Katerina Diamond

EVERYTHING YOU THINK YOU KNOW IS A LIE…

Can you keep a secret? Your life depends on it…

Bridget Reid has a secret, one that could get her killed… If she can escape the man who is keeping her locked in a basement bedroom.

DS Imogen Grey is good at keeping secrets – truths she’d never reveal to her colleagues at Exeter Police. She worked hard to get where she is – she nearly died for it. Now her past is catching up with her…

As DS Grey and her partner DS Adrian Miles search for Bridget, they uncover a terrifying web of abuse, betrayal and murder. And they realise that some secrets are better left buried…

‘A deliciously dark read, Katerina Diamond keeps her readers guessing throughout as she leads us on a very secretive, VERY twisted journey…everything I was expecting from a well-written, pacy thriller.’

— Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

The Teacher

Katerina Diamond

The Teacher is Katerina Diamond’s psychological crime debut expertly told from several different perspectives including the police, the perpetrators and the victims of a series of violent crimes. Gradually, the reader pieces the story together like a jigsaw. The truth, however, presents a number of moral complications, leaving both the characters and the reader to judge right from wrong.

Adrian Miles, a detective determined to redeem himself after a suspension, is joined by Imogen Grey, a reluctant transfer from another town. They investigate the disappearance of a local business man who appears to have embezzled a large sum of money and then left the country. On closer examination, however, the detectives discover that their case is tied to a series of brutal and seemingly unconnected murders. Seven men share a terrible past which they have kept secret for over thirty years and now, one by one, they are visited and killed. It transpires that the men were engaged in ritual torture and abuse of young boys, fed to them via a well-respected private boarding school, to ‘correct’ their suspected homosexuality. The detectives eventually find themselves pulled to the museum in the heart of the city – but the museum holds more than one dark secret of its own.

The story also follows Abbey, a taxidermist at the museum, both in the present and in the past when she was raped at a party at university. Scarred by her experience, Abbey is a quiet girl who enjoys working alone until the mature PhD student Parker turns up at the museum to help her in preparation for a grand reopening. The two awkward loners become close and after seeing Parker’s scarred naked body Abbey discovers a centuries-old torture room hidden within the walls of the museum. A number of pieces fall into place as she realises that Parker must be involved with the recent spate of murders in the area.

‘Diamond is the master of gripping literature.’

— Evening Standard