Fiona Ford

Fiona Ford is a freelance journalist. She has spent the last 15 years writing gritty real-life stories, news and a smidgeon of celebrity tittle-tattle for national newspapers and magazines.

Following a stint as a ghost writer, Fiona plucked up the courage to combine her love of writing and history to write a novel in her own name.

Originally from Bath, Fiona now lives in Berkshire and is married with two cats. Thankfully, both her husband and pets have all mastered the art of pretending to listen patiently as she begins yet another anecdote with the words, ‘during the war’. When she is not writing or researching World War II, Fiona can be found running along the Thames Path, training for a half marathon of some kind and wishing she was sitting on the sofa eating chocolate instead.

Books

Christmas at Liberty's

Fiona Ford

The first novel in the Liberty Girls series will be loved by fans of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Mr Selfridge.

September, 1941: Mary arrives in war-torn London nursing a broken heart and a painful secret.

When she is offered her dream post as an assistant in the fabric department at Liberty’s, she knows this is the fresh start she needs. Amid the store’s vibrant prints and sumptuous interiors, Mary finds a new family who can help her to heal.

But not everyone will give Mary such a warm welcome, and the trauma of her past will soon catch up with her.

As Mary and the Liberty Girls endure the heartache and uncertainty of war, it will take a steady heart to keep the magic of Christmas alive.

‘A wonderful, uplifting story of friendship and courage. Characters that you can’t help falling in love with! This new saga series will surely touch the hearts of saga readers everywhere’

— Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series

The Spark Girl’s Promise

Fiona Ford

January 1941. Peggy Collins has learned a lot during her time as a Spark Girl. Posted to Swansea, as a driver to the squadron leader, she often hears things she shouldn’t and she knows to be discreet, understanding how serious the phrase ‘loose lips sink ships’ really is.

Peggy meets and falls in love with pilot Jim Hudson, but her heart is broken when he becomes missing in action and Peggy is left fearing the worst. That isn’t the end of the shocks in store for Peggy and she is forced to remember a promise made long ago. But can she keep her word while the bombs fall?

Full of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak, A Wartime Promise is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.

The Spark Girl

Fiona Ford

Spring 1940. Kitty Williams has suffered more than her fair share of tragedy but rather than wallowing, she’s more determined than ever to do her part in the battle against Hitler. Stepping up her own war effort, Kitty leaves her home town of Coventry and joins the Auxiliary Territorial Service (Women’s Army – ATS) where she finds new friends in Di, Peggy and Mary but also new obstacles to overcome in both her professional and personal lives.

‘Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.’

— Lancashire Post

‘A compelling first novel which I promise you won’t be able to put down’

— Daisy Styles

‘A fabulous debut from an immensely talented author’

— Annie Groves